Cisco SD-WAN: Introduction to The Service Level Agreement (SLA)

Cisco SD-WAN: The Service Level Agreement (SLA)

The Service Level Agreement (SLA) class feature in Cisco SD-WAN enables administrators to specify several service classes for various types of traffic and varying quality of service (QoS) criteria for each class. This can be helpful for making sure that mission-critical applications get the required bandwidth and low-latency assurances while less significant traffic is given lesser priority.

SLA classes may be used to set various QoS criteria for traffic that is being routed to the cloud when utilizing the Cisco SD-WAN Cloud Onramp feature. Administrators may then make sure that traffic headed towards the cloud receives the proper degree of service based on its priority.

Fig 1.1- Cisco SDWAN SLA Classes

When a traffic flow is matched to an SLA class, the Cisco SD-WAN solution applies a specific set of policies and actions to that flow, such as:

  • Quality of Service (QoS) policies to prioritize and shape the traffic
  • Path selection policies to determine the best path for the traffic to take through the network
  • Performance monitoring policies to measure the end-to-end performance of the traffic

SLA classes can be configured using a variety of parameters, including:

Bandwidth: Administrators can assign different maximum and minimum bandwidth limits to different SLA classes to ensure that critical traffic always has enough bandwidth available.

Latency: Administrators can assign different latency thresholds to different SLA classes to ensure that critical traffic is always given priority and experiences low-latency.

Priority: Administrators can assign different priority levels to different SLA classes to ensure that critical traffic is always given priority over less-important traffic.

Jitter: Administrators can assign different jitter thresholds to different SLA classes to ensure that critical traffic is given priority and suffers low jitter.

When configuring SLA classes in Cisco SD-WAN, administrators can assign different classes of service to different types of traffic, such as traffic to the cloud, traffic to specific sites, or traffic to specific applications.

This allows them to ensure that all traffic is given the appropriate level of service based on its priority, and to manage bandwidth and performance more effectively.

It's worth mentioning that the Cloud Onramp feature on Cisco SD-WAN also allows administrators to select the cloud service providers (CSPs) and the appropriate VPN to reach them, as well as routing and traffic engineering options, in this way administrators can make sure that their traffic reaches the cloud in the most efficient and secure way possible.

In conclusion, the SLA class in Cisco SD-WAN Cloud Onramp enables administrators to specify a level of service and set a priority for traffic moving to SaaS services and the cloud, ensuring that it is provided with the necessary performance, dependability, and security.

Other Articles you may interested in :
Cisco SDWAN: vManage as Management Plane - The Network DNA
vBond in Cisco Viptela SDWAN - The Network DNA
Cisco Viptela SD-WAN : vSmart as a Control Plane - The Network DNA
Cisco SDWAN Resources - The Network DNA